About Rwanda

Rwanda is a landlocked country situated in Central Africa, bordered to the North by Uganda , to the East by Tanzania , by Burundi to the South and by the Democratic Republic of Congo to the West.Map of Rwanda


Area: 26,338 sq. km; about the size of Maryland.
Cities: Capital- Kigali (est. pop. 1,000,000).
Other cities: Muhanga, Huye, Musanze, Rubavu.
Terrain: Uplands and hills.
Climate: Rwanda has a temperate climate with two rainy seasons (February to April and November to January), mild in the mountains but with frost and snow possible.

Getting there

All international flights arrive at Kigali International Airport, just 10 Km from Kigali city centre. International flights that operate to Kigali are Turkish Airlines, Qatar Airways, SN Brussels, Kenya Airways, Ethiopian Airlines and Rwandair Express.

There are two direct flights from Brussels to Kigali by SN Brussels Airlines. Rwandair Express has introduced two flights a day from Nairobi (Kenya) and Entebbe (Uganda), and two per week from Johannesburg. Rwandair also has daily flights to Bujumbura and 3 flights weekly to Kilimanjaro. Rwandair Express currently flies thrice a week to Rubavu (Gisenyi-Rwanda) every Tuesday, Friday and Sunday.


Spoken languages are Kinyarwanda, French and English. French is widely spoken throughout the country. In the capital and other tourist centres, English is widely spoken.


The unit of currency is the Rwanda franc. The US dollar is the hard currency of preference. It may be impossible to exchange travellers' cheques away from the capital. Credit cards are usually only accepted at the major hotels in Kigali.